L’Inizio (The Beginning)

(1999)

The road that led me to that simple purchase is quite long and windy, peppered with those small and seemingly insignificant decisions. However, I can trace the beginning back to one fateful moment.

I was a freshman in college, just about to finish up my first semester and it was time to pick a new round of courses.  Mostly the classes on my schedule fell under the General Education requirement.  Except for one.

I had been struck by the strange desire to take a foreign language class.  It didn’t really make sense since I had suffered through an awful three years of Spanish in high school and had no need to take a language class in college.  But I couldn’t shake it, so I wandered over to the language section of the course catalogue.  German? Not interested.  French? Interesting.  Very interesting.  My rudimentary Spanish would give me an edge there, and its such a pretty language.

A language that doesn’t have a single class that works with my schedule.

And onward.

Italian?

Hmmm…Italian.  Not an obvious choice. But a very pretty language.  Kind of a cross between Spanish and French.  And it fits in my schedule.  I could just take one semester of Italian and then take French next time.

Little did I know.

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 1999, Choices, Italian Class and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

