La Curiosita’ (Curiosity)

(2010)

The day at work was total chaos.

The welcome backs, good-natured ribbing over my extended vacation and bestowal of presents (i.e. some fabulous European chocolate) were quickly put aside as I plunged into a non-stop schedule of updates, meetings, emails and planning sessions.  The theatre world had not stopped while I was gone, and we were headed into the time of not only ending our season but also orchestrating a huge organizational relocation.  There was much to cover, and the hours flew quickly by as I tried to get back in the swing of things.

Once I was finally home, exhausted both from the day and from a body that wasn’t quite sure which time zone it was in, I finally had time to re-read Mario’s letter.  I toyed with the question of whether or not I should even respond.  I mean, I was back in the States.  What was the point of continuing the correspondence?  Did I really need a pen pal?

My curiosity won.  When honest with myself, I had to admit that I was insanely intrigued as to what Mario thinking – and to what he was planning on doing.  I figured there was no harm in sending him a letter, letting him know that I had arrived safely and responding both his questions and to his ode to Sicily.  I ended with a few questions of my own, leaving the door open should he choose to continue the correspondence.  The cynical part of my brain presumed that I would never hear back from him.  Or, at most, he would write me a few letters and then quickly lose interest.  I mean, he was a handsome, intelligent, ambitious Italian man.  I was pretty sure that he wasn’t hurting in the girl department.  I figured that I was just a mere curiosity, this strange American woman who had, one rainy spring morning, shown up in his life.  Surely, it was a curiosity that would be quickly satisfied, letting us both move on.

His response arrived the following morning.

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Italy, Job, Mario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

