Perfetto (Perfect)

(2010)

I expected to be nervous.  But even though my heart was beating in anticipation and my hand tightened in Mario’s grip, I felt a prevailing sense of calm as we made our way over to the ring counter.  Rows of beautiful diamonds stared back at me, in every size and shape I could imagine.

This was completely surreal.

Now, I had always said that I didn’t want to go ring shopping.  I found it to be unromantic, taking all the fun and surprise out of any proposal.  I figured that any man who loved me enough to marry me would know me well enough to pick out a ring that I would like.  I didn’t need to choose it.  And I worked hard to not have any expectations as to what it would look like.

But I couldn’t take my eyes of the display case.  Unlike Tiffany’s, where I knew that there was no chance I would ever get one of those rings, the options in front of me were all…possible.  And I realized that I really had no idea as to what I wanted.

Luckily, Mario’s taste in jewelry was similar to mine.  Classy.  Elegant.  Unique.  As we took out ring after ring, pointing out features that we liked, laughing at the ones we found to be ludicrous, my heart swelled with love for the man by my side.  There was no fear, no hesitation.  Of course, with the luck we’d been having in our purse shopping, I had little expectations that we would find anything.   But I was enjoying immensely the experience.

Just as we were getting ready to leave, Mario was distracted by a collection in a display case at the side of the store.  He called me over and asked the sales lady to pull a particular ring out.  Stunningly beautiful, you could tell that this ring was unlike any other we had looked at.  The sales lady continued to describe the ring and its designer as she put it in my hand.  I slipped it on to see.

And I froze.

This was the ring.

I couldn’t stop staring at my hand.  It was absolutely perfect.  The right size.  The right shape.  The right detailing on the band.  Everything we had been looking for. The sales lady’s descriptions faded into the background and all I could do was look at my left ring finger.  It belonged there.  And I didn’t want to take it off.

Mario was in awe.  E’ perfetto.  (It’s perfect).  Neither of us could believe that we had found something this beautiful, this….right.

Mario and I looked at each other.  Yes, the ring was perfect.  But were we ready?  Truly ready?  It had just been a lark to go inside the store.  A chance to get some ideas.  There had been no plan to actually buy something.  Because buying something meant doing something.  Big.

After a moment of hesitation, I took the ring off my finger.  Making sure that we had all the information about the ring written down, we thanked the sales lady for all her help and walked out the door.  Quietly we made our way to the car and back home, both of us lost in our own thoughts.

Were we ready?

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Mario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

