Sei Pronta? (Are You Ready?)

(2010)

That question lingered through the evening and into the next day.  So much had happened since that fateful spring morning in Pisa.  The months of conversation had opened up our souls to each other and the past few weeks together had only proven how much we wanted to be together.

But then there was reality.   The reality of our abnormal situation.  The reality of the difficulties arising from our different cultures and backgrounds.  The reality of Mario’s departure.  The reality of the continued distance.  Neither of us wanted to make a hasty decision that we would later regret.

The next morning I went into work for some meetings and to catch up on some pressing matters.  As had become our habit, Mario found odd jobs around the house to do in order to feel useful, made lunch and then came and picked me up.  As we sat around the table, hand in hand, talking about who knows what, a feeling of peace descended.  Our conversation paused as we looked at each other.  And all of a sudden, I knew.  I could marry this man.  I wanted to marry this man.  Despite the hardships and difficulties that would be our companions, I wanted to share my life with him.

As I looked over at Mario, I saw the emotions flicking across his face.  His grip tightened on mine as he exhaled.

Sei pronta?

Are you ready?

I nodded.

Without a word, he calmly stood up, put his arm around my waist and led me out the door.

It was time to get the ring.

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Mario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

