Bella Mia (My Beautiful)

(2010)

As I slowly sat down on my bed, my eyes widened in shock.  Wasn’t that it?  Mario’s declaration of love had been enough to send me into euphoria.  Surely this was all he had planned.

Once I was securely sitting on the bed, Mario took a deep breath and dropped down onto his knee.  Grabbing both my hands, he pulled me forward until our foreheads touched.  Once again, unable to look me in the eye, Mario began to speak.

Bella mia…

Pause.

Big pause.

Bella mia…

Deep breath.

Si…? (Yes…?)

Bella mia…

Pause.

Mario was petrified.

And I knew exactly what was coming.

I couldn’t believe it.  Was this really happening?  Could it be possible?  Was Mario really going to propose?  What was I going to say?

As Mario continued to say my name over and over, pausing in order to gather his courage, I started to pray.

Please Heavenly Father. I’m going to say yes.  Is that right? This is a good man.  I love him.  But I want to make the right decision here.  So if this isn’t right, please let me know.  Now.  Because otherwise I’m going to say yes.

Bella mia….

And then.  Finally. It came.

Mi vuoi sposare?

(Will you marry me?)

I took a deep breath.  And said one final prayer.

YES.

Mario let out a yelp of joy and then tackled me, hugging and kissing me as tears of joy streamed from both of our eyes.  Finally he pulled me back up, and pulling me back so that we were once again forehead to forehead, he told me to close my eyes.  Once my eyes were closed, he grabbed my left hand.  Teasing me that I couldn’t peek, he fumbled with his pocket, and then I felt something cool slip onto my finger.

The ring.

Once it was in place, he told me to open my eyes.  I looked down, and there it was.  In all of its perfect glory.  The ring that had seemed so right in the store.  It was even more beautiful than I remembered.

And it was on my finger.

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Mario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

