Dopo (After)

(2010)

The next few hours passed in a daze.  First we had to call my dad.  Mario knew that the custom of “asking the father’s permission” was important to me.  However, since he needed me to serve as translator, he was forced to wait until he had actually proposed so as to not ruin the surprise.  Once that (oh-so-interesting) conversation took place, we waited until my mom came home and Skyped with both my parents to tell them the news.

They weren’t surprised.

After heartfelt congratulations, a flurry of questions followed, including so many details that did not yet have answers.  Then it was time to tell my sisters.  And then, it was time to leave my room and face the world.

Mario and I were already disastrously late to meet a few of my friends for dinner, but there was no quick escape.  As I went down the stairs I heard my roommates gathered in the kitchen, making dinner.  I stood in the doorway, a dazed expression on my face.  Finally, one of them looked over at me.  After one glance at my face she knew something big had happened.  After a glance to my hand confirmed her suspicions, she let out a shriek and ran over to give me a big hug.  The rest of my roommates quickly followed suit.

And so it began.  The revelation.  The congratulations.  The request to hear the story.  An experience that would be repeated over and over and over for the next few weeks.  It was official.

We were getting married.

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Mario and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

