Curiosa (Curious)

(2010)

I couldn’t help but be curious as to what Mario was going to say when I told him I had actually bought a dress.  He knew I had gone shopping, but neither of us had expected that I would actually find anything.  I couldn’t wait to tell him.

As our Skype call connected later that afternoon, Mario had a bemused expression on his face.  “Allora, com’e andata?” (“Alright, how did it go?”)

It was absolutely comical to see the surprise on his face when I revealed that not only had I found the perfect dress, but that I had gone ahead and ordered it.  He couldn’t believe it.  After expressing his incredulity, his eyes turned curious and he started plying me with questions about what the dress looked like.

Not a chance.

I am old fashioned enough that I didn’t want him to know anything.  Though happy to assure him that it was beautiful, and that I was positive that he was going to love it, he wasn’t getting a single detail from me.

That, of course, just made him more curious. Just as he was starting to plead, my roommate knocked on my door to ask me a question.  Seeing her standing there, Mario changed tactics.  Calling out a greeting, he started quizzing her about the dress shopping experience, trying to weasel out some details about the dress that I had purchased.

“It’s beautiful!  You’re going to have one good looking bride, Mario!”

Mario was not to be put off.  Assuring her that he had every confidence in my dress choosing ability, he put on a ridiculously sad face, bemoaning the fact that we were so cruel by refusing to tell him anything about the dress.

With a wicked gleam in her eye, my roommate nodded her assent.  Of course!  What were we thinking?  Mario deserved to know everything.

Before I could protest, she launched into her description of the dress.

“It really is amazing.  It’s purple.”

“Purple?”

“Yup, with some green on the skirt.”

Now the twinkle was in Mario’s eyes as well.

“Wow.  Truly amazing.”

“Oh it is.  And my favorite part is that it’s covered in butterflies.”

Mario could no longer contain his laughter.  Admitting defeat, he acknowledged that this was, indeed, the most beautiful wedding dress he had ever imagined.

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Mario, Wedding Plans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

