A Distanza (At a Distance)

(2010)

As the days slowly passed, we tried to get a handle on everything.  While we had the venue for the actual ceremony, there was still so much to plan.  The site for the reception, food, flowers…and it all needed to found both in DC and in Italy.  And in our budget. Invitations that needed to be bilingual.  A honeymoon to plan. And endless calls with the Maryland city hall and the Italian embassy in order to know what process we needed to go through, and which documents needed to be in hand, before we could return to Italy.

And let me tell you…the Italian embassy has some VERY weird hours.

Mario and I were in constant communication, calling, Skyping and emailing throughout the day.  Slowly, one by one, we started to make decisions.  And yet, with every piece that fell in place, it seemed like 10 more suddenly appeared.

And Mario was so far away.

I was trying to stay positive, but the pressure of getting the wedding right and planning an international move while staying on top of my work, family and friends, was starting to get to me.  That, combined with the loneliness of missing Mario, made everything more difficult.

Wasn’t this supposed to be a joyous occasion?

The largest frustration came from the fact that no matter what happened, whether it was the end of a long day at work or celebrating FINALLY finding the perfect reception site, I was only alone.  Sure, I could talk to Mario on the phone or even see his face over Skype, but I missed being near him.  Of having his arms around me. Of being able to see and touch his actual face.

Long distance sucks.

While I was anxious for the wedding day to arrive, the thing that kept me sane was my upcoming trip to Italy.  I would be spending almost two weeks with Mario over Thanksgiving and my birthday.  Not only would we have the chance to take care of last minute details (such as our engagement photos), but we would simply have the chance to be together.

I couldn’t wait.

 

About ciaobellamiastory

What do you do with that magical moment when everything makes sense - when all the random choices, experiences and encounters come together, and you find that rare instant of clairty? Then what do you do when it all falls apart? About 12 years ago I decided to take an Italian 101 course. That seemingly random choice has forever altered the path of my life. My strange connection with the language, culture and people of Italy started with love and joy and culminated with unexpected loss, grief and despair. While previously I was content to follow this unpredictable path, today I seek to understand the reasons and lessons behind my journey. My journey towards understanding begins here.
This entry was posted in 2010, Choices, DC, Italy, Mario, Wedding Plans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

